weekly vibes: a little bit of everything

January 1 – 7, 2022

This week was a mix of confusion, overwhelm, stress, and being over it, so I have no idea what the vibe is. It was just tying to remain sane, I suppose.

music

  • Latch – acoustic by Sam Smith, Disclosure
  • This is Gospel by Panic! At The Disco
  • Paradise by Khalid
  • imagine by Ariana Grande
  • tonight by Alaina Castillo

books

I read A Touch of Darkness by Scarlett St. Clair this week. This is a Hades & Persephone retelling in a modern setting and I had fun while reading it. I gave it a 4.5 stars despite being probably closer to a 4, due to my enjoyment while reading. It’s hard to have real enjoyment while reading a smut, but I liked the characters and the plot of the story. It was good and I did not mind the audiobook narrator. Also I feel like it had a decent balance between the smut and the plot. I do want to read the next book, but I’m worried because I made the mistake of reading reviews.

youtube

Kris MF – I found Kris’ videos when I was craving a writing vlog to watch. I love the way she talks and is honest with herself and the audience during her process. I enjoy her craft video discussion too.

rose of the week

Yesterday (the 7th), I watched a fox run across my backyard. It had snowed the night before and it was windy. So watching that little red fox trot across the yard with the snow blowing off the trees in its wake was adorable to watch. Also, snow! We haven’t gotten a real snow storm here yet and it finally happened.

writing

I finished my outline for my new writing project. My goal for this project is to reach the end. It’s strictly for fun and to learn and practice my skill. The nickname is modern pirates and it’s about a group of people who decide to live like pirates in our modern world. Their motives and goals are a little different from traditional pirates. A historian joins their crew and that’s who we follow. So the crew and out historian use each other to get the same thing, but for different reasons. That was a terrible description, but I only just semi flushed out this story after 3 months. I start writing on January 8th and I am excited. I’m not sure how long this draft will be or how long it will take me.

well wishes,
aless ♡

Leave a comment