What’s in My Libby? vol. 1

volume 1

This is a biweekly series because library loans can be 1-3 weeks long. This will allow me to avoid being too repetitive.

What is Libby?

Libby is an app and website for libraries to have a digital catalog. It is free, and all you need is a library card! You can borrow ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines. Some libraries even have other benefits for other programs. It is simple to use, and it auto-syncs across your devices, or every time you open the app. You can make lists of books to borrow or your favorites with their tagging system. I adore the Libby app and have been using it since Overdrive transitioned into Libby. I cannot recommend it enough. You are supporting your local library!

What might we be reading?

  • 🎧 audiobook
  • πŸ“– ebook
  • πŸ“š series
  • πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ lgbtq+

For the Wolf
Ava Reid
🎧 πŸ“š Fantasy
Content Warnings

Red has to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the woods to fulfill the hope that he will return the gods to the kingdom. Yet, the woods call to Red’s magic and she is relieved to not accidentally harm the people she loves.

I started this a few days ago, and it’s really interesting. I’m enjoying the storytelling, but I think I need to slow down the speed from x2. The narrator speaks a bit fast, or I could follow along with the physical book. I enjoy a good retelling, and I’m hoping this is filled with all the dark goodness it might have to offer.

Captive Prince
C.S. Pacat
πŸ“–πŸ“š πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆFantasy

When Damen’s throne is seized before he could be crowned, his half-brother sends him to be a pleasure slave to an enemy nation. Prince Laurent is the worst of the worst in the court yet Damen has to try to gain his help to regain his throne…without revealing his true identity.

I have tried to read this for years, but I always return it before I open it. I know people love it, and the short page count is very attractive, lol. I have read the Fence graphic novels from Pacat and they were so fun. I’m curious to see where I fall on the scale of enjoyment for this book. Captive Prince might be a smutty romance, so skip this if that isn’t your cup of tea.

We Hunt the Flame
Hafsah Faizal
πŸŽ§πŸ“š Fantasy

Zafira is a hunter for her people of Arz, but she is disguised as a male. Prince Nasir is compassionate despite being the assassin for his father. Nasir has to hunt and kill the hunter who is retrieving a lost artifact that could restore the lost magic to Arz.

Why haven’t I read this book yet? I know it’s good and people love it. The author is amazing and the snippets are always glorious. I started this but didn’t get past the first few pages. I am going to listen to the audiobook and follow along. This might be a case of not liking one of the narrators, but I speed up my audiobooks now. I want to read this, I think I’m going to really enjoy it.

A Lullaby for Witches
Hester Fox
🎧 Paranormal

Margaret Harlowe dismisses daily life as a daughter of a wealthy New England family to instead grow and strengthen her powers. “Witch” followed in her footsteps as she grew stronger. 150 years later, Augusta Podos is working in the Harlowe House Museum and is intrigued by the mysterious daughter whose background has been removed from the family’s history.

I don’t know much about this besides the summary. It sounds interesting and I hope it switches between timelines until they converge together or something.

The Kiss of Deception
Mary E. Pearson
🎧 πŸ“š Fantasy

Princess Lia follows tradition except for having the gift of sight. On her wedding day for an alliance, she flees to a distant village. While settling in, 2 strangers enter her life: the prince and an assassin sent to kill her.

Did somebody say love triangle? πŸ‘€ Admittedly, I am only reading this series to get to Dance of Thieves. But I do love an old YA love triangle. Okay, yeah, I’m excited for this one now. Even if this isn’t good plotwise, I need the love triangle to be decent.


I’m not sure what I will get to this week. I want to read We Hunt the Flame and For the Wolf, but I do have a physical loan that I need to get to as well. I’m in such an audiobook mood which is always nice because they really are my love. I enjoy the ability to be able to do other things while I read. I also tend to binge-read them, so that’s a plus.

I hope you have a lovely week, and I’ll see you soon.

~ Aless β™‘

Leave a comment