university fall term reflection

Fall term moved fast. The end of September quickly became early December in a snap of the eye. I was actually at university, college, whatever you want to call it. I finally did it. I made it. I was officially an art student at my dream school. Sure Rona made everything a little tense and some things difficult, but I survived my first college term and that’s what matters to me.

monthly highlights

September: Moving in, beginning to go to events and exploring
October: I got a tattoo and a piercing
November: I survived midterms! I went to a concert! I went to a musical performance!
December: I survived finals!

september

I spent most of September at home since I did not move in until mid-month, and classes started at the end of the month.

Welcome week went okay. I spent a lot of time in the library instead of at events because I was not comfortable jumping into things just yet. I talked with some people and my roommate on our walk to The Franklin Institute from campus for the post move in celebration. I haven’t seen those other people since that walk.

This goes for the whole term, but my roommates and I talk once every two weeks and we usually stay up late. For some reason, we don’t find ourselves falling asleep until 2-3 AM every day. It’s weird because when we go home, we go to sleep around midnight. But yeah, my roommate situation is pretty good and we have no problems with each other. Neighbors are a different story.

october

To be honest, I don’t remember much from October. It was a blur. I had classes, went to some events for my program, and I joined two clubs.

I joined the Her Campus chapter which is a blog run by women and it’s a shared collective with universities and colleges across the U.S. It’s fun to write blog posts for that, but it is stressful and hard to schedule that in between everything. I don’t know if I want to continue being a part of this because as the term continues, the club slowly dies out and it is weird.

I also joined the gaming association. I was even more motivated to join because some girls from the org was tabling during the activities fair. That was such a relief to see and then I joined the discord and the president is a girl too. Dude I love it. I haven’t done too many gaming things with everyone because of some tech issues and classes, but it’s a nice place to chill or chat.

What else happened? Oh, I got a fox tattoo on my right upper arm. I also got a helix piercing on my right ear. They are cute and to be completely honest, I am too lazy to find or take a decent picture of both. Taking pictures of my tattoo is awkward because of it’s location.

november

November was both fun and interesting. I went through the stress of midterms. I didn’t get a midterm grade for my design class which was stressful. I didn’t see a grade until after finals for that class. But yeah, fun otherwise.

I went to a concert solo for the first time. I saw Olivia O’Brien and it was so good. Her openers were great and her concert was everything. So much fun. It was worth the soundcheck money. Next time though, I need to get the meet and greet. I’ll try at least.

I took photos for an open mic night which was fun. Stressful because I wanted to do well, but dark lit photography is hard to get right. It was fun because it was nice to see what other students (mostly the music industry students) are working on.

I also saw Anastasia for the second time. I saw the first tour cast and then this one. This run has a Black Anastasia/Anya????? I cried. It was great again plus some. Loved it. Kyla Stone was an amazing Anya. There was more diversity in this run which we love to see.

Thanksgiving was small and strictly comfort food which was yummy.

december

I was sick at the end of November and the first week of December. Not with rona, but the common cold that was going around during that time. I was sick and in finals. It was a mess.

I procrastinated more because of stress and physically not being able to do anything because…sickness. All of my projects got done in time and I got decent grades. Finals was also the time I got back into rewatching Jenna Marbles. It was after one night when my programs kept crashing and due dates were near.

During finals, I had a nice dinner with my program. I also went ice skating for the first time after I was finished with a friend and her roommates. It sucked and was super hard. But we watched Polar Express after and commentated on how different it felt compared to when we were little.

Then I was home for a month and I recharged and caught up on sleep. It was nice.

final reflection

Fall term was so weird. College felt like a figment of the imagination, but being here is so surreal for me. Now I am in week 3 of winter term, and am ready to be done. Granted two of those weeks were online. During the fall, I tried to explore and have some fun. I tried new things and had a few solo adventures in the city. Now that it’s a new term, I want to start to focus on my academics more. I did well last term, but I struggled with balance. I also experienced art burnout halfway through the term. I am starting to take a few more classes that need more focus and studying.

I can’t think of anything else that’s somewhat cohesive, so I am going to end this here. Hopefully, I can keep up with this blog during classes.

well wishes,
aless ♡

Leave a comment